Reviews written between bursts of hectic activity

August 23, 2009 at 8:30 pm (reviews - links)

Life has been crazy lately, but the reviews keep on going up! There’s a new title, Ōoku, in this batch, and I’ve been really looking forward to reading it. It’s by Fumi Yoshinaga, the author of Antique Bakery, Flower of Life, and a number of other things, and it’s an alternate history story in which 3/4 of Japan’s male population dies in a plague and women take on most or all of the vital roles in society. I didn’t write much about the characters in my review, for reasons which I hope I explained well enough, but it’s very interesting.

Since I’m talking a bit about individual series here, I also want to recommend Kaze Hikaru. I hadn’t read it before I started getting review copies (around vol. 10), and have never read the earlier volumes (since the local library system sadly doesn’t have it), but it’s really good. It’s…also a historical story, actually, about a girl who disguises herself as a boy and joins the Shinsengumi. It’s funny and touching and generally awesome.

Anyway, these are the reviews that have gone up on MangaLife recently:

Crimson Hero vol. 11 (B-)
Kaze Hikaru vol. 14 (B+)
Ōoku: The Inner Chambers vol. 1 (A)
S.A (Special A) vol. 11-12 (C-)

Leave a Reply

