Post-NYAF reviews–and convention report!

October 1, 2008 at 12:47 am (reviews - links)

I spent the weekend at New York Anime Fest, which was not only my first cross-border convention but my first visit to the US since…2004, I think. The primary reason I went was to network–I love adapting manga, and have room in my schedule to do more of it, or to work on anime if the chance comes up–but I also had the chance to meet up with some friends I don’t see very often, as well as meeting some online friends for the first time. It was a great experience, overall: all of the industry people I talked to were extremely friendly and willing to chat about all kinds of things.

Mind you, often my side of the conversation included things along the lines of “I’m so excited that [title] is coming out, and I can’t wait to give you money”. Which was always true. I don’t say that kind of thing lightly, especially with anime; I’m fairly willing to experiment with manga, but I have to be pretty sure I love an anime before I’ll commit to it.

So part of this week’s MangaLife update includes my NYAF convention report, and I’ve posted two reviews since I last updated (VIZ review copies, as usual):
Time Stranger Kyoko vol. 2 (C)
Wild Ones vol. 4 (C+)

The latter suffers from one of the potential problems with review copies, in that I haven’t read the prior volumes in the series. Sometimes this is more of a concern than others; in the case of Wild Ones, I suspect that I might have enjoyed it more if I’d read from the beginning. (This seems like a pretty obvious thing to say, but it’s much more noticeable with some series than others. Some books give enough of a feel for the series for me to have a solid idea of how much I’d probably like it if I read the whole thing, and I try to assign letter grades accordingly.)

Leave a Reply

