Brief thoughts on manga reviewing (or, a different kind of linkage)

May 5, 2008 at 12:22 am (reviews - links)

On top of adapting, I’ve been writing manga reviews for Manga Life over the last couple of months, and have been–this is shocking–slack about linking them from here. So this is a bit of a link dump, but here’s the list of what I’ve reviewed so far, with the grades I assigned (and the publisher, although what I review isn’t necessarily representative of what I’ve been reading):

Anne Freaks vol. 1 (A-, ADV Manga)
Basara vol. 26 (B+, Viz)
Dazzle vol. 1 (A-, TOKYOPOP)
Gakuen Alice vol. 1-2 (B+, TOKYOPOP)
High School Debut vol. 1 (B+, Viz)
Hikaru no Go vol. 10-11 (A-, Viz)
Monster vol. 13 (A, Viz)
NANA vol. 8 (A+, Viz)
Othello vol. 2-4 (B, Del Rey Manga)
Sand Chronicles vol. 1 (A, Viz)
Skip Beat! vol. 2-3 (B, Viz)
Suppli vol. 1 (A-, TOKYOPOP)
Train Man: A Shojo Manga (B+, Del Rey Manga)

As you might guess from that list, I tend to review things I’ve gotten at least a reasonable amount of enjoyment out of. If I find something boring, or if I actively dislike it, I have a hard time coming up with much to say about it. And I’d much rather think of reviewing as a way of letting people know about good things than as setting up warning signs to fend them off, especially since I’m keenly aware of how much people’s tastes differ.

Leave a Reply

